psalm thirteen

THE FOLLOWING TEXT from the Bible came to mind as I read about recent shootings in the United States. Jamar Clark, 24, lost his life on Sunday after cops shot him in the head “under unclear circumstances.” Even though I didn’t know Jamar, I know that we shared the same state of residence and the same number of years lived.

Increased media coverage of police brutality and the consequent taking of Black lives does not seem to be making lasting change. I don’t expect it to. It’s just discouraging that racial injustice and violence seems to be dominating more and more each day. I don’t know what to do about it. So I pray this lament as a collective cry for justice.

How Long, O Lord?

To the choirmaster. A Psalm of David.

How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever?
    How long will you hide your face from me?
How long must I take counsel in my soul
    and have sorrow in my heart all the day?
How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?

Consider and answer me, O Lord my God;
    light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death,
lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,”
    lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken.

But I have trusted in your steadfast love;
    my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
I will sing to the Lord,
    because he has dealt bountifully with me.

Leave a Reply

